GED Tests are one way to get an Alberta Education High School Equivalency Diploma. GED is the only high school equivalency program recognized by all Canadian provinces. GED exams not only cover each subject area, but also test skills in communicating, processing information, problem solving, and critical thinking.

About GED tests

The GED tests certify a high school level of academic knowledge and skills in five subject areas:

 1. Language Arts Writing

 50 mc questions & essay  75 min (MC) & 45 min (essay)

 2. Language Arts Reading

 40 mc questions  65 min
 3. Social Studies  50 mc questions  70 min
 4. Science  50 mc questions  80 min
 5. Math Part 1 & Part 2  25 questions, each part  45 min each part

Each test also includes an extra 20 minutes of instructions and 5 minutes for administrative setup. The GED tests are the computer-based GED 2002 series.

All five GED tests must be passed to receive your Alberta Education High School Equivalency Diploma

GED preparation

Bow Valley College offers GED Preparation Programs. For more information about the preparation classes, click here.

Bow Valley College uses the Complete Canadian GED Preparation textbook, published by: Steck-Vaughn, ISBN: 9780774716314, available for purchase through our bookstore.

GED test dates

The GED Test is offered weekly at Assessment Services (most Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and/or Saturdays). Login into MyGED for available dates and times.

JANUARY 2019

 

FEBRUARY 2019

Thursday Jan 3

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Friday Feb 1

9:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday Jan 8

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday Feb 5

10:30am – 3:30pm

Thursday Jan 10

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Friday Feb 8

10:30am – 3:30pm

Friday Jan 18

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Saturday Feb 9

9:30am – 3:30pm

Saturday Jan 19

9:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday Feb 12

10:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday Jan 22

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Friday Feb 15

10:30am – 3:30pm

Thursday Jan 24

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday Feb 19

10:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday Jan 28

Thursday Jan 31

10:30am – 3:30pm

9:30am – 3:30pm

 

Thursday Feb 21

Tuesday Feb 26

10:30am – 3:30pm

10:30am – 3:30pm

MARCH 2019

 

APRIL 2019

Friday March 1

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday April 2

10:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday March 5

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Thursday April 4

10:30am – 3:30pm

Friday March 8

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday April 9

10:30am – 3:30pm

Saturday March 9

9:30am – 3:30pm

 

Friday April 12

10:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday March 12

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Saturday April 13

9:30am – 3:30pm

Friday March 15

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday April 16

10:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday March 19

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Thursday April 18

10:30am – 3:30pm

Thursday March 21

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday April 23

10:30am – 3:30pm

Tuesday March 26

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

Tuesday April 30

10:30am – 3:30pm

Thursday March 28

10:30am – 3:30pm

 

 

 


Register to write the GED test

  1. Get your Alberta Student Number (ASN) from the Alberta Education website.
  2. Go to www.ged.com and create your own account. (Read instructions below before creating your account).
  3. Once signed in, MyGED Dashboard will appear with six selections on the page.
  4. Click on Schedule and follow prompts on each page. Choose COMPUTER version. You may choose to write the five tests on any schedule, one at a time; OR any number of tests over two or more days. Select ONLY 2 or 3 subject tests at one time to find available times and dates. If you want between-test breaks longer than 10 minutes, register ONE test at a time.
  5. Pay the GED exam fees online: $40 USD per test or $200 USD for all five tests.

* Registrations must be completed 24 hours before the scheduled test time. Registrations are refundable or transferable by contacting GED Testing at 1-877-392-6433 no later than 24 hours before the scheduled test time.

GED test day

  1. Bring your Government issued photo ID (driver's license, passport) for check in.
  2. No personal items (including cellphones or electronic devices) are permitted in the test session. Failure to comply can result in forfeiting GED test privilege and in denying access to your GED test record. Lockers are available to store all personal belongings.
  3. Assessment Services is located in the lower level of West Campus.
  4. Arrive at least 15 minutes early for every test.
  5. All writing materials are provided (pens, erasable board, calculator, etc.) 

GED test results

Results are available immediately following your test, except for Language Arts Writing, which may take 5 – 7 business days. The essay score is included in Language Arts - Writing, and is not shown separately.

For each of the five subjects, a passing grade is score of 450 or higher out of 800. (equivalent to 38 correct answers of 50, or 30 correct answers of 40).

Your Diploma is mailed by Alberta Education in Edmonton within one month. Ensure your address is current at www.ged.com.

Official transcripts are available at myPass.alberta.ca one month after successful completion.

Enquiries for diplomas and transcripts should be directed to 1-780-427-9069.

Additional upgrading of high school courses may be required for students entering some post-secondary programs. It is your responsibility to check the requirements of any program. 

Rewrites

Only failed tests may be rewritten.

Previously passed tests (2002 on) are not required to be rewritten, assuming that all five are passed by December 31, 2019.

14 days is required between same test writings; for fourth and subsequent writings, candidates must wait 60 days for each rewrite, after last date of test being rewritten.

If a client provides formal documentation demonstrating a higher mark requirement, the rewrite of a passed test may be permitted upon approval by the GED Chief Examiner.

Supports and accommodations

Clients who have a diagnosed disability may be eligible for accommodations. To secure an accommodation, contact our office for the required forms, at least two months before registering for GED testing. Accommodation forms must be submitted to GED Chief Examiner for formal approval.

**Paper-based GED tests are held by BVC at St. Luke's Outreach Centre in Okotoks in May and November of each year; contact 403-995-0287 for registration information.


Contact us

Assessment Services

W010, West Campus, Lower Level 
300 - 6 Avenue SE
403-410-1700
assessmentservices@bowvalleycollege.ca

Your cart is currently empty.

Browse Available Courses